Back In The Day

Way back in the day, when things were simple, and there was far less to bitch about.

  • Comment-Happy Territory!

    If there's one thing I adore, it's comments. I try to respond to every comment left on my blog so if you like a review or even totally disagree with everything I said, please leave a comment! I'd love to chat with you.
  • Do you enjoy reading quirky reviews? Click "Ramble At Me, Panda" to subscribe to my blog and receive email updates!

    Join 9 other followers

  • Cantankerous Panda

My Movie Diet

Posted by Cantankerous Panda on February 21, 2009

Now that I have established this as the place for my film blogging, I will talk a little about what to expect here. I recently decided to renew my love affair with Netflix, and have been eating my way through all the classics I could remember. As much as I am loving it, I decided to start adding in a newer feature with each shipment just to mix things up. Some of the films I have watched recently are The 39 Steps, Charade, His Girl Friday, Topaz, On the Waterfront, Seven Days in May, The Big Sleep, and Pineapple Express. This is not including the myriad of ridiculous horror films I watch with my younger sister, or any new films I happen to see (sadly, I don’t do enough of that). I will be blogging about old movies as well as new, so this is a warning to people who don’t like black and white films. Also, there’s bound to be some subtitled films in here, so that’s another warning for you.

Tonight I am starting The Maltese Falcon. I am terribly excited about it. But, since I have yet to see it, I cannot review it. In the meantime, I will give a small list of some older films that I adore:

12 Angry Men, Charade, On the Waterfront, Citizen Kane, North by Northwest, Rear Window, Notorious, Psycho, Seven Days in May, The Birds, M, Strangers on a Train, The Grand Illusion, The Big Sleep, The Adventures of Robin Hood, The Wizard of Oz, The Sting, Dr. Strangelove or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb, In the Heat of the Night, Stagecoach, A Hard Day’s Night, Singin’ in the Rain, and To Catch a Thief.

Go watch those films now. If you don’t want to watch all of them, I demand that you watch 12 Angry Men and On the Waterfront. I’m not even joking. 12 Angry Men might be my most favourite movie of all time. It’s the sort of movie that I will watch all the way through and IMMEDIATELY rewatch. It is so amazing. And don’t you pull the whole remake bullshit on me, either. This film was perfect in its original form and didn’t need a remake. I love William Petersen, too, so you’d think I’d be biased towards the remake. But I’m not. I hate it. It’s an abomination. WATCH THE ORIGINAL, PEOPLE.

I’ll be back with my thoughts on The Maltese Falcon sometime in the near future. Until then, get working on those movies!

Leave a Reply

 
